Independent guide. This is not the official Thailand Privilege program or a government site. We pass enquiries to a partner law firm in Phuket that is an authorized agent, and we may receive a referral fee. How this site works

Independent guide, not the official program. How this site works

Thailand Privilege or the retirement visa: which suits you?

Short answer

Choose the retirement visa (Non-Immigrant O-A) if you are 50 or over, can show 800,000 THB in the bank or 65,000 THB a month, and accept a 1-year stay renewed each year. Choose Thailand Privilege if you want one fee for 5 to 20 years, whatever your age, and can pay 650,000 THB or more. Work is not allowed on the O-A visa: the Foreign Ministry says employment of any kind is prohibited. For Thailand Privilege the programme's own guides disagree: one says members may not take local employment, another says members can work only through the Flexible Plus Program, which requires a minimum investment of USD 1 million.

Both of these routes suit people who want to live in Thailand for a long time without working. The difference is how you pay for that: with money held in a bank account and a renewal every year, or with a one-off fee for several years.

Facts about the retirement visa come from the Thai Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Royal Thai Embassy in Doha. Facts about Thailand Privilege come from the programme’s own pages. All were read on 26 October 2026.

Side by side

Retirement visa (O-A)Thailand Privilege
Age50 or over on the day you applyNo minimum age, per the programme’s guide
Money800,000 THB in the bank, or 65,000 THB a month, or both adding up to 800,000 THBNo financial proof required, per the programme’s guide
CostVisa fee 5,000 THB for multiple entriesMembership fee 650,000 to 5,000,000 THB
How long1 year from first entry, then a 1-year extension at the officer’s discretion5, 5, 10, 15 or 20 years by tier
WorkEmployment of any kind prohibitedUnclear: one guide says no local employment, another says only through the Flexible Plus Program (USD 1 million minimum investment)
Other checksNo criminal record, medical certificate, not prohibited from entryBackground check

The retirement visa in more detail

The Foreign Ministry page says the O-A visa may be issued to applicants aged 50 and over who wish to stay for a period not exceeding 1 year without the intention of working.

The eligibility list on that page includes:

  • Aged 50 or over on the day of submitting the application.
  • No criminal record in Thailand and in the country of nationality or residence.
  • Nationality of, or permanent residence in, the country where you apply.
  • None of the prohibited diseases listed in the Ministerial Regulation it names.
  • Not prohibited from entering Thailand under the Immigration Act.

The money rule is one of three options: a bank deposit of at least 800,000 THB, a monthly income of at least 65,000 THB shown by an income certificate, or a deposit plus monthly income totalling at least 800,000 THB. The page says that if you submit a bank statement, a letter of guarantee from the bank (an original copy) is required.

The page lists these documents, among others: a passport valid for at least 18 months, a police certificate and a medical certificate each valid for not more than three months, and, for a spouse who is not eligible for the O-A visa, a marriage certificate as evidence for a Non-Immigrant O visa.

You can apply at a Thai embassy or consulate in your home or residence country, or at the Immigration Bureau office in Bangkok that the page names.

The Doha embassy page also lists health insurance with an insured sum of at least 3,000,000 THB. The Foreign Ministry page does not list it. Ask the embassy where you apply which rules it uses. The Foreign Ministry page was last updated on 30 November 2022, so check for newer rules.

Once in Thailand you report to immigration every 90 days. To extend, you show the money again: the page says a one-year extension is granted at the immigration officer’s discretion as long as you meet the requirements. It does not state an extension fee.

Thailand Privilege in more detail

Thailand Privilege is a paid membership with five visa tiers, listed on the official home page: Bronze 650,000 THB (5 years), Gold 900,000 THB (5 years), Platinum 1,500,000 THB (10 years), Diamond 2,500,000 THB (15 years) and Reserve 5,000,000 THB (20 years, by invitation only). See our Thailand Privilege page and the tier comparison.

The programme’s comparison guide says applicants need no financial proof, no employment contract, no health insurance and have no age limit. It says applicants submit a passport, photo and application form. Another guide says the application is based mainly on the membership fee and background screening.

You still live under immigration rules. The official FAQ says a Privilege Entry visa allows 1 year per entry. Members complete 90-day reports, and an extension at immigration has a listed fee of THB 1,900.

Who each suits

These are our readings of the facts above, not official advice.

The retirement visa suits you if you are 50 or over, you can hold 800,000 THB or show 65,000 THB a month, and you do not mind the yearly renewal. The fee is low. The cost is that you must keep showing the money and renewing.

Thailand Privilege suits you if you want one payment for many years and do not want to prove income or a bank balance. It also fits you if you are under 50, because the retirement visa is closed to you. The cost is a large fee up front.

Check another route if you want to work. The O-A visa does not allow it, and the Privilege pages do not agree on whether and how members may work. The LTR visa and the DTV have their own rules, covered on their pages.

A simple comparison

Our own arithmetic: the 800,000 THB for the O-A visa is money you hold, not a fee you pay. A Bronze membership is 650,000 THB that you pay once. So the retirement visa asks for more money to be shown and less money to be spent. Which is easier depends on your savings. We cannot compare them in total cost, because the Foreign Ministry page does not state the extension fee.

Next step

If you are 50 or over, read the retirement visa guide and the Thailand Privilege page side by side. To compare them against your passport and plans, send an enquiry and we will pass it to a partner law firm in Phuket.

Sources

  1. Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Non-Immigrant O-A (Long Stay)
  2. Royal Thai Embassy Doha, Retirement (Long Stay) visa
  3. Thailand Privilege, official tier list
  4. Thailand Privilege guide: Privilege Card vs other long-term visas
  5. Thailand Privilege guide: Privilege Card vs Long Stay Visa
  6. Thailand Privilege, Living in Thailand (rules and FAQ)

Read on 26 October 2026. Visa rules and fees change and embassies set some of their own. This article is general information, not legal advice; see how we research and our disclosure.

Related guides

Questions people also ask

Can I get the retirement visa if I am under 50?

No. The Foreign Ministry says the O-A applicant must be 50 or over on the day of submitting the application. The Thailand Privilege programme says it has no minimum age.

Which is cheaper, Thailand Privilege or the retirement visa?

The retirement visa fee is 5,000 THB for multiple entries on the Foreign Ministry page, plus you must show 800,000 THB or 65,000 THB a month. Thailand Privilege starts at 650,000 THB as a fee. They are different kinds of cost: one is a fee, the other is money you must hold.

Do I have to show money for Thailand Privilege?

The programme's guide says no financial proof, employment contract or health insurance is required. It names background screening and the membership fee as the main requirements.

Can I work with either visa?

No for the O-A visa: the Foreign Ministry says employment of any kind is strictly prohibited. For Thailand Privilege the programme's guides disagree. One says members are not allowed to engage in local employment. The guide comparing the card with the LTR visa says members can only work through the Flexible Plus Program, which requires a minimum investment of USD 1 million. Ask the programme before you plan to work.

How long does each last?

The O-A visa allows a stay of 1 year from first entry, and the Foreign Ministry describes a 1-year extension at the immigration officer's discretion if you still meet the requirements. Thailand Privilege tiers cover 5, 5, 10, 15 and 20 years.

Form LTV-1 · Visa enquiry

Ask which visa fits your plan.

Tap through seven short questions. After the first four you see which visa to look at first. Then leave your contact details and a partner law firm in Phuket, an authorized agent, replies with the options and next steps.

  • Free, and it does not commit you to anything
  • Mostly taps; you type only your name and contact details
  • Answered by a law firm in Phuket, not a call centre

We are an independent guide, not the official program. We may receive a referral fee from the partner firm if you go ahead. How this works

Question 1 of 8
How old are you?

The retirement route starts at 50.